skip navigation
Dancing Lady

Dancing Lady(1933)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Dancing Lady A musical star is torn between... MORE > $12.57 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Dancing Lady???

    • GoodDogNigel
    • 3/14/19

    I love this movie except for Joan Crawford. She cannot dance. She's just a terrible God awful dancer. Who were they trying to kid?

  • Wonderful Orchestra

    • Cheryl
    • 8/17/15

    Most impressive and so very moving is the song ..Everything I Have Is Yours.I get emotional. Touching and beautifully done. That man's voice is so incredible.Not sure of his name but so very glad I got to hear something so wonderful.The dancing Joan was painful to watch but that guy's voice totally made up for it.

  • Dancing Lady

    • Barbara
    • 2/11/14

    Love this movie! Joan Crawford is beautiful and Clark Gable is well Clark Gable! WIsh we had actors like them now

  • woulda been great, if Joan hadn't danced!

    • Vickey
    • 9/17/13

    Why they cast Joan Crawford as a dancer is beyond my understanding, but the movie is good despite her clunking around. Poor Fred, having her a dance partner, I wonder if he ever recovered. Joan does a very good job in her acting role as a tough gal who is determined to make it show business, and is very believable; but they should have used a double for the dancing scenes, she is by no means a "Dancing Lady." Great acting by all, most especially Clark Gable.

  • Great black and white film...

    • Catheryne
    • 9/17/13

    I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, but understood why Clark Gable was Joan Crawford's choice. To me he was far more attractive than Franchot Tone. I must say; however, that watching Joan "dance" was painful. She flailed about the entire stage, arms and head swinging in no particular direction, so heavy on her feet, but got to see Fred Astaire and Nelson Eddy...well worth the dancing agony.

  • dancing lady 1933

    • george snedker
    • 8/15/12

    great art deco and production values plus fred astaire's film debut make this movie a bit special.produced by the great david.o.selznick.

  • Clássico

    • Sonia
    • 11/16/10

    Este filme um dos melhores que Clark fez ao lado de Joan Crawford. O filme animado, alegre e divertido. Muito bom.

  • Fun!

    • Julie
    • 3/2/10

    Tone didn't get the gal because he was a lying creep! He was plotting and lying to get Janie - thank the heavens he didn't get her! Clark was a wonderful man who deserved the gal, he saw Janie's talent. Joan, Clark, and Franchot are all charming in this movie!

  • Dancing Lady (1933)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/12/09

    What an amazing cast! It would be hard not to like a movie that stars Joan Crawford, Clark Gable, Fred Astaire and even the Three Stooges! I loved it, great fun, good music and some terrific dancing.

  • Decent Tone Vehicle

    • NJMB
    • 6/5/09

    The reason to watch this old film is for Tone's depiction of a playguy who, for some reason, didn't get the gal.

  • Franchot Tone: Heart Throb

    • Eliza.beth
    • 6/2/09

    Never knew what the big deal was about Gable because he was so arrogant. As a woman, I like the kind of men who are less brute and more refined, like Franchot Tone. In this film, he handily steals the show.

  • Franchot Tone

    • Eunice_Campbell
    • 5/31/09

    Too much ado was made of Gable and Crawford since Franchot Tone is by far the better actor. It's not a bad film. It's just not very good either.

  • Franchot Tone

    • Carla
    • 4/29/08

    Nobody played the millionaire playboy like Franchot Tone. Something about his polished but playful look, rakish demeanor and that voice was perfect. Why he usually lost the girl is beyond me!

  • Really Look'n Good

    • Bob M.
    • 5/10/07

    Appearance-wise Gable & Crawford are really in their prime. The chemistry is great,a fun cast,plus, Fred too. Those sets are a tribute to how great things can look in "Glorious Black & White". I always enjoy watching.

  • Gorgeous Joan

    • Judi
    • 5/10/07

    I too was surprised by how beautiful Joan Crawford was when she was young. I wonder why she went to that weird makeup instead of staying natural and real looking. I've seldom enjoyed later JC movies because of the distracting overdone makeup. Which is a pity, because she was very talented.

  • Unexpected Delight

    • Rol Edquist
    • 5/2/06

    Imagine tuning into Dancing Lady to seea gorgeous Joan Crawford. She was certainly that in 1933. She is featured in elaborate dance numbers. She can danceand did with Fred Astaire. One of thefeatured players was FredericMarch...no...it's Franchot Tone. They could pass as brothers. Franchot wantsJoan's heart though she is also smittenwith Clark Gable. Add Nelson Eddy, RobertBenchley Jerome Howard, Larry Fine and Moe Howard...some know them as the Three Stooges and you have a gem if you arelooking for light entertainment. And the one and only May Robson is cast asFranchot's grandmother...This film has legs...gorgeous legsbelonging to Joan Crawford. Such a treat.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.