skip navigation
Jeanne Eagels

Jeanne Eagels(1957)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Jeff Chandler Steals The Show

    • Joella Lyndon
    • 6/26/15

    The 'Article' section stated Jeff Chandler received a $20,000.00 salary and Kim Novak received $13,000.00. After watching he and Kim Novak perform in this biography I can understand why. Also the black and white cinematography was exceptional, particularly the close-up shots. Beautiful and brilliant.Kim Novak, like her peer Marilyn Monroe, is a caricature of herself in this film: Kim Novak performing Kim Novak performing Jeanne Eagels. Her voice is no longer sultry and mysterious but bellowing and masculine. Even her demon red (or is it black?) lipstick mocks the leading lady of Halloween, Vampira. Her one dimensional portrayal forces me to care less about the life of Jeanne Eagels. Kim Novak failed when it came to putting into action all the historical research she evidently gleaned on her character. Never sympathetic. Not even in her 'Rain' scene, portraying Sadie Thompson like a man in drag. No tenderness and consistently bellowing her lines, the polar opposite of the brilliant acting Mommie Dearest gave to Sadie Thompson in the 1932 movie adaptation of 'Rain' with the amazing Walter Huston. Based on Kim Novak's brief performance of 'Rain' in Jeanne Eagels, as with Norma Jean in the bigger picture of her acting career, she rebelled against wanting to invite any comparison between her and Joan Crawford's performance. Or I guess she never saw the movie. Kim Novak seemed obsessed with rebelling against Harry Cohn and his creation of her. As Jean Seberg clearly understood, "In my long and difficult and mature life, I have come to learn that the less I know about acting and the more I know about everything else, the better I'll be at both acting and living". As with Jeanne Eagels, Miss Novak's rebellion eventually destroyed her ability to discern the art of acting . . . and life.

  • true love

    • nancy coupe
    • 1/25/10

    God jeanne did not not know really true lasting love when held him and embraced i wish i could feel very paasionate love today!

  • EPIC CLASSIC!!!

    • Bobby W.
    • 1/19/10

    This is a classic piece, and in my opinion one of Kim Novak's greatest films! She capitalizes on method acting! Novak's portayal of such a tragic figure--Jeanne Eagle is exemplary!!! This movie is reminiscent of the psychoticism portrayed in the film Sunset Boulevard, starring Gloria Swanson as the character Norma Desmond!! Definitely a MUST SEE!

  • jeanne Eagles

    • Amelia C.
    • 10/1/09

    I love this movie so much it was so sad. Kim Novak and the actors are great! I wish they would release this movie on DVD.

  • Such Hollywood Drama!

    • Ellen M
    • 9/30/08

    I run hot and cold with Kim Novak's acting. "Jeanne Eagels" was not portrayed as herself but Novak's personality and over-acting shadowed the real actor. Just like the 1964 version of "Of Human Bondage" with Kim Novak playing the main character, it was totally unbelievable to me. I looked up Jeanne Eagels on the internet and she appears to be a much more complex person and talented actress than she was portrayed. As far as I'm concerned "Picnic" is my favorite Kim Novak movie because the character was sultry and like her. She and Bill Holden really lit up the screen. I didn't like "Jeanne Eagels".

  • Jeanne Eagels

    • Katherine Hodge
    • 6/11/08

    This is a great old movie that used to be shown on tv really often. Then it vanished! I have not seen it since the late 70's or early 80's. The acting by Jeff Chandler and Kim Novak was superb.

  • A great movie

    • doreen
    • 12/5/07

    Wow...I don't think I have seen this movie since I was a teen in the 70's, but the performances of Kim & Jeff were good, for me to remember and wanting to see it again. I can't wait! Bad part is learning Sal's role is fictional.

  • Classic Movie!!!, Get it on DVD

    • Bob Berry
    • 11/26/07

    I saw this film when u=it was first released many years ago, it is a hard hitting bio of Jeanne Eagles, a talent who through drugs and alcohol wasted her life, WHY ISN'T THIS CLASSIC ON DVD, I AM SURE MANY MANY PEOPLE WOULD THOROUGLY BE ENTRANCED BY THIS FILM, SO LETS GET IT ON DVD AND ON TURNER CLASSIC MOVIE CHANNEL, WHICH I WATCH CONSTANTLY, I AM SURE IT IS ONE FILM ROBERT OSBORNE WOULD RECOMMEND, THANKYOU

  • Jeanne Eagels

    • robin adelman
    • 10/31/07

    Dear TCM:TCM had Jeanne Eagels scheduled to be shown, then it was not. Hopefully, you will at some point show this great biography of the stage star, but drug addicted Jeanne Eagels, greatly portayed by the enigmatic Kim Novak, and intensified by love interest, Jeff Chandler.TCM fan,Robin Adelman

  • WHY???????????

    • KATE
    • 8/21/07

    WHY HAVEN;T U SHOWN THIS GREAT MOVIE???HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS GREAT MOVIE IN A VERY LONG TIME....PLEASE HAVE IT ON VIDEO OR DVD!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT TO HAVE IT FOR MY COLLECTION..OF KIM KNOVACK MOVIES..THANKS

  • Kim Novak & Jeff Chandler Fan

    • S.H.
    • 12/3/06

    A powerful film.

  • Good Movie.

    • Movie Fan
    • 10/28/06

    I saw this film years ago and enjoyed it very much. Kim Novak and Jeff Chandler give very good performances. I would like to see it again and hope it comes out soon on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.