skip navigation
The Best Man

The Best Man(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • politics as..

    • a.morris
    • 2/6/18

    in 1964..a story of bitter.. personal differences and politics. by 2016..quaint and quite ordinary..in a way.

  • don't tell the ending

    • tcm fan
    • 12/5/17

    thank you Robert Sipan for telling the whole story and ending in your review - now I don't have to watch it. why do reviewers think it's necessary to ruin the movie for others who haven't seen it? be considerate and just say if you liked the movie, don't tell us the entire plot and ending.

  • The Best Man -- a time capsule. Or is it?

    • Richard C. Sipan
    • 11/15/16

    I happen to like this movie because the main setting is the now torn down Los Angeles Sports Arena (a largely basketball oriented arena that was close to the L.A. Memorial Coliseum). You have Henry Fonda as the morally decent candidate, Cliff Robertson as the dangerous, demagogic candidate, and a dark horse who ends up with the nomination. Shelley Berman does an amusing turn as a witness who appears to have evidence to blackmail the Cliff Robertson character into withdrawing. John Henry Faulk does a star turn as a Lyndon Baines Johnson type Southern candidate.Another setting is the Ambassador Hotel, where Robert F. Kennedy was shot and killed 4 years later. The Ambassador is also gone, I believe.The thing that runs through my mind as I watch this movie and its multiple plots unfold is, "The more things change, the more they remain the same."

  • Great presidential election movie

    • Annette
    • 11/9/16

    I happen to run across this movie is flicking through the station's about 8 years ago I was so glad that I was able to record it it hardly ever comes on it should be showing more often but I truly truly enjoyed this movie I am so glad that it's coming on this month we now have President Trump as our president also Henry Fonda performs very very well I love the entire cast I do wish the movie could have been maybe 5 or 10 minutes longer the air sometimes a champion the way it ended and then sometimes I question and say he made the wrong choice but thank you for this opportunity to share my views please show this movie more often TCM

  • The Rest Banned

    • Clichae,H.A.
    • 7/17/16

    This movie takes a little look at the filth, lies, & murder collassas which supplies the money, means, & sell-outs that make up the TV show called 'democracy' & its spin offs but fails to account for the truer statesmen, privy to & public about this reality, who have been vilified or blurred beyond recognition or fatally silenced.

  • best man

    • kevin sellers
    • 7/7/16

    Be interesting to see if what happened in this movie happens in Cleveland at the Republicans little gathering two weeks hence. My head says no, my heart says maybe.

  • Comment about the accompanying araticle

    • Barry
    • 6/17/16

    Frank Capra was working with playwright Marc Connolly. Walter Connolly was an actor who frequently appeared in Capra's films but had died in 1940. An editor is required.

  • The Best Man

    • Goetan
    • 5/9/14

    An engaging adaptation of the stage play. Fonda and Robertson excel in there roles as two Presidential hopefuls, Tracy was nominated for an Oscar in his final performance; although Southern was nominated for a Golden Globe, the female roles are weak. The dialogue sizzles, but the second half is better than the first. A good political movie. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • All the Presidents Men

    • Graham Thomas
    • 5/8/14

    Dry, acerbic, reserved adult film. It's talk talk talk, but what talk! Along with Fail Safe, one of Fonda's successful stabs at realism of a type..... It IS Hollywood, after all.... Worth seeing if you have not.

  • Clash of titans!

    • RedRain
    • 5/4/14

    This is one film that should jolt everyone out of their political lethargy and encourage all of us to get more involved in who we are electing to office in our great country! It is an authentic portrayal of life behind the scenes at political conventions and politics in general. It's a dirty business and appears to be worse as each election year rolls around. With the great acting giants Fonda, Lee Tracy and Cliff Robertson, as well as Margaret Leighton, you have actors who know how to read a script and the words that came from Gore Vidal's fantastic novel. This film probably doesn't begin to compare to the backdoor shenanigans that went on between the JFK people and the LBJ people which ended up with LBJ accepting the Vice Presidential nomination but it comes close. LBJ knew where all the JFK bodies were buried and all the scandal that was hushed up AND LBJ also knew J. Edgar Hoover who provided the most scandalous information of the day. RFK absolutely did not want LBJ anywhere near a JFK White House but RFK was also a shrewd politician and knew JFK wouldn't carry the South without LBJ doing the politiking down there. None of the conventions are without this type of back-stabbing antics and this film brings it all out and nothing is too vile to stoop to in order to get your guy the nomination. Fortunately, it's the movies and they stray from reality with the good guy winning; unfortunately, that isn't happening in real life. This film is a real lesson in how things get done behind closed doors and it is an essential for any young person who wonders why we're in the mess we're in today. Just sit back and enjoy the ride because it is a rollercoaster humdinger!

  • Surprisingly Riveting

    • Mary Clasen
    • 9/19/11

    What a treat to stumble upon this well-paced, wonderfully written political picture. Gore Vidal has such a deft and realistic command of interpersonal dialogue. The story curved into an unexpected ending-and for once, I was actually surprised. Would've loved to see this on the stage!

  • the best man

    • cassie941
    • 6/11/11

    only when I looked up the writer did I realize what made this a superb movie...Gore Vidal and then realized by a cast of the truly great.

  • One of the best political films

    • Joe
    • 1/12/11

    Great film timely even today. Superb cast particularly supporting players Ann Sothern and Lee Tracy who richly deserved the Oscar for which he was nominated but did not win.

  • Underated Gem!

    • talansteubenville
    • 7/27/09

    Underated Gem!Better than any other political movie the past 20 years.

  • Overrated

    • Jen
    • 5/16/09

    Script filled with stereotypes.

  • The Best Man (1964)

    • Jay
    • 4/19/09

    Fantastic political satire, still very much pertinent today. The acting is excellent, particularly Henry Fonda and the fine supporting cast. Great writing and direction.

  • Spellbinding

    • sandyfj
    • 8/25/08

    From the opening dialogue to the closing credits, this film was quite captivating.The issues addressed, especially as they related to women and minorities, has some relevance for audiences today.I rushed to see if I could add a copy to my personal library, but unfortunatley it is not available on home video. Pity, it is an unknown classic that would make for an enjoyable evening with friends during this election season. More airings during prime time would be appropriate for this movie.

  • Appropos for today

    • John
    • 2/11/08

    I have never seen this movie, until today. This movie is very appropos for today. The Democratic and/or Republican conventions in this year 2008 maybe similarly reminiscent of today. I recommend this movie. Good acting by Henry Fonda (always good) and Cliff Robertson.

  • Inciteful & Incandescent

    • Frank Sano
    • 10/5/07

    Riveting performances by Fonda, Tracy & Robertson.A pocket expose of what goes on behind the scenes of a national convention and a triumph of "doing the right thing".....Hmmm, we were wondering there for a minute. Wonderful location shots of the Ambassador Hotel and the Los Angeles area in the 1960's. Pretty good product placement for the Chrysler Corporation as well. A truly entertaining film......

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.