skip navigation
The Killing

The Killing(1956)

Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Killing A team of specialists plots a... MORE > $19.47 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • ick

    • Jeff Boston
    • 11/26/18

    Sick Nick (Carey), Trick Tick (Windsor), Quick Brick (Kwariani), Click the Wick (Hayden), and Pricked & Flicked (Cook) are the pick of the bitter critter litter in this stick-and-lick film noir classic. Much better than the gratuitous schlock ("Reservoir Dogs") it inspired 36 years later.

  • Danse Fatale

    • H.A.C.
    • 11/26/18

    It was like a ballet of the devil fooling with the best laid plans of his own people - even the props & movie title were part of the whole of this moving graphic novelette- except for Fay who showed up out of nowhere at the end- like gum that got stuck on a vintage dust jacket.

  • The Killing

    • jeanne
    • 11/25/18

    one of the best "Heist Films" ever, Hayden Elisha Cook and Marie Windsor are all excellent, although I wish it would've aired at midnight, not 12;45 as I had to work Sunday AM, and I missed Eddies "outro" which I really wanted to see, I love all his commentary before and after each film

  • in defense of eddie m

    • kevin sellers
    • 11/25/18

    Regarding the last reviewer's panning of Eddie Muller's intro as "rambling" all I can say is that one man's rambling is another man's (i.e. me) enlightenment.

  • not a review but a criticism of TCM's show delays

    • Daniel
    • 11/24/18

    Shame on you TCM, for changing the time that "Noir Alley" comes on on the East Coast. It used to be 12 am sharp each time, but lately, it's been coming on later & later (12:15/12:30, etc.), but this is the worst at 12:45! Also, given that Eddie Muller always rambles on for anywhere from 5-10mn before the film, this means it won't come on until 1:00 am. Now, I realize it repeats the next day, on Sunday at 10 am (at least that time hasn't been changing), but that's not the same as watching it late on a Sat. night! Also, it's not always possible to view it on that day & time, obviously. I've been a big fan of "Noir Alley" (& Noir films in general) ever since it was programmed many months ago, but if these delays keep happening, I will stop trying to watch. Why doesn't Eddie Muller object to this? Ben Manciewicz, do something!...-Daniel N.

  • One Of My Favorite Movies !

    • DON RILEY
    • 5/28/18

    Elisha Cook deserved a supporting actor oscar nomination at the least, that didn't happen...but ! He really gives it all up here. One of the weakest individuals ever captured on film, he depicts. And Wow !............He makes this work so well. Perfect example of the famed quote by Issac Isimov,..............."All complete failures end with violence". May not be an exact quote but its something to that effect. But I have to say the most memorable character is Marie Windsor. She is the grandest of low level women, absolute sleaze and cigarettes come flowing out of her in poetic quantities. She is the anointed queen of film noir a thousand times over. There is not one noble bone in her corrupted anatomy, a true and real creation of deception and deceit. Sterling Hayden is tremendous in my opinion. No phony pseudo-playboy, charmer, posturing like you see in the performances of more famous actors like Robert Mitchum. He is so good ! Think of how many great films he lends his talents to, never upstaging anybody. Timothy Carey's best performance by far and he actually makes his part work. This is a tribute to Stanley Kubrick, his first film and one of the best crime films ever, its not as great a film as the Asphalt Jungle, but in some ways it is better. Great film that I have to give five stars. Love this movie !

  • The Killing

    • Goetan
    • 6/1/14

    The film that put Kubrick on the map and the other best American heist film of the '50's, the other being John Huston's "The Asphalt Jungle." Hayden and Windsor excel in their roles as the tough ringleader and back-stabbing femme fatale, respectively, lively supporting characters. Kubrick's multiple-perspective approach to the robbery and the dialogue are the films best strengths. Tense, exciting and entertaining from the master, Kubrick. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • The Killing

    • John
    • 8/4/13

    Overall-3 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-5/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of genre-3/5

  • A marriage made in hell...

    • David H.
    • 1/13/09

    The Elisha Cook, Jr. & Marie Windsor pairing is maybe film's most inspired illustration of 'wedded bliss'. Not for the squeamish, or anyone considering "tying the knot", these two get their just release from marital bondage. Their dialogue is noir classic, and downright humorous to the extreme. A great movie, with many memorable characters.

  • A much underrated Film Noir

    • BRUCE R
    • 5/16/07

    "The Killing" in my opinion is one of the best crime films/film noirs ever made, and the one that put Stanley Kubrick on the map as a director.Everything about it is great, and what I particularly like is the documentary feel (with narration), and the race track robbery scenes being shown out of sequence, a curious technique of Kubrick.I also like the ending where after Sterling Hayden has planned and executed the robbery down to the smallest detail, he loses the money when the suitcase falls on to the runway and pops open, and nearly 2 million dollars blows away.(I was almost hoping that he would somehow get away with it).I saw it again recently and was disappointed when I learned that it is not available on DVD.I hope that it is soon so that I can watch it whenever I want to see a classic crime film.

  • Dated , but Compelling !!!

    • N Shepard
    • 3/23/07

    Robbing the horse track a somewhat twisted scheme, but nonetheless interesting when Sterling Hayden and his buddies team up to use a sharpshooter to disrupt a race , and rob the counting room. First rate casting,but the use of a narrator makes for laughable scenes. Stanley Kubrick directs.

  • The Killing

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 5/13/06

    The acting in this movie is topnotch, including Elisha Cook and Marie Windsor who are both perfectly cast. My favorite character in the movie has got to be the intellectual wrestler played by Kola Kwariani.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.