skip navigation
Across the Wide Missouri

Across the Wide Missouri(1951)

Contribute

FOR Across the Wide Missouri (1951) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Across the Wide Missouri An explorer leads the way west... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Authentic 'historical' film.

    • GJRuthenberg
    • 6/3/13

    I agree with R.P. Morris on the films 'reel' authenticity. The care taken showing native American custom, artifacts and symbolism during this film was remarkable for its '51 release, showing that an Indian 'Officer' had indeed been employed on set. Also, the native language used seemed authentic. Have the Blackfoot and Nez Perce communities been able to verify the dialogue accuracy ?So many historical films are awash with inaccuracies and glam'd up (modern films treat historical facts as a tease rather than a treatise) but 'Across the Wide Missouri' has that grainy, stilted feel of that rough and rugged time.Best quote : from the narrator - "My father told me, that for the first time he saw these Indians as he had never seen them before - as people with homes and traditions and ways of their own. Suddenly they were no longer savages. They were people who laughed and loved and dreamed." This narration was followed by a horseman inviting clans for a potlache.A frontier gem of film !

  • butchered film

    • george snedker
    • 5/16/12

    beautiful looking western about the mountain men,it could have so much better the studio mgm(dore schary) cut it to ribbons,the director william wellman disowned it.

  • Excellent movie

    • Steve Myers
    • 5/15/12

    ACROSS THE WIDE MISSOURI is an excellent movie with action, setting, and solid story. The scenes of the meeting of the mountain men are superb. Pay no attention to Matlin's comments.

  • 1830 pickup truck

    • larry
    • 10/13/11

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time but I noticed when watching again yesterday that a small pickup truck drives across the lower left corner of the screen just before Kamiah ask Clark Gable if he was trading horses for a wife. This movie takes place in 1829 LoL

  • Maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 12/25/10

    Este filme um dos melhores que Clark Gable fez na dcada de 50. O filme tem muita aventura e ao. Se o filme ainda no estiver disponvel em DVD quem sabe o TCM possa apresentar o filme em VHS. Para que todos possam ter a oportunidade de ver o filme.

  • Crowd pleaser

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 11/27/10

    I can see how this would rank up there as a favorite among Clark Gable fans. It's a good product of the MGM studio system, with wonderful Technicolor photography and solid direction by William Wellman. The supporting cast is good and includes Ricardo Montalban and John Hodiak. The film credits list an 'Indian Technical Adviser' and I think that helps make the story of the picture more accurate, even if the natives are played by non-native actors (usually substituting hispanics for American Indians, such as Montalban and lead female Maria Marques). For further reading, check Bernard de Voto's trilogy: The Year of Decision/Across the Wide Missouri/The Course of Empire.

  • Across The Wide Missouri

    • Pamela Anderson
    • 9/7/10

    This is one of the very best Clark Gable films I've ever seen. I had it video cassette and I watched it over and over. I highly recommend this movie to any and all who love films about the frontier. Gable is great in his role as Flint Mitchell and the supporting cast is wonderful. This is must and see and a must own.

  • A wonderful movie

    • Terry Catt
    • 11/1/09

    I have been looking to own this movie for a long time. It rates as the top ten movies I saw as a child , and would like to revisit occasionally.

  • Amazing for historical accouracy.....

    • R.P. Morris
    • 12/27/07

    this is one of those rare films that really shows & portrays the accuracy of american indianology regalia & way of life & family within the tribal community. Altho the acting at times may be alittle " over the edge" , this is a great representative of the times of mountain men & indian co-existing. I have researched this time period a great deal & this film needs to be offered to home video viewing for its "realness" & for passing on to our children the life & times of that period. Many times we are given in hisory a "fairy tale " view of that time, or a bias, depending on who is telling the story.

  • Across the Wide Missouri

    • Mike
    • 11/5/06

    This chopped version retains a rare performance by Marques and with Gable.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.