skip navigation
Strike Up the Band

Strike Up the Band(1940)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Give Me A Break!!!

    • David H.
    • 6/13/18

    When Mickey Rooney says that Gershwin was as good as Beethoven and Bach it has to be one of the worst lines in film history. Except for the Concerto in F there's no way that Gershwin can be compared to the other two. Certainly, Gershwin was a fine composer of show tunes, but his limited output as a classical composer is hugely overrated. That lame diatribe for me gives this movie an F minus.

  • strike up the band

    • kevin sellers
    • 6/27/16

    Garland's great, both singing and acting, and the Busby Berekley magic is evident in "La Conga" and the tile song number at the end. Otherwise, this is a real yawner, with too much of Mickey Rooney's patented egomaniacal overacting and too many long stretches without music, where we're forced to sit through a story stuck firmly at the intersection of wholesome and vapid. Give it a C.

  • Strike Up the Band

    • Goetan
    • 8/13/13

    The second of four films starring Garland & Rooney. Here they're high school students who, along with their band, will raise money to enter a radio contest; face palms are inevitable when Rooney is ignorant to Garland's attraction to him. Oscar-nominated songs and Garland's voice offer the audio candy, won an Oscar for sound recording; but the story goes off everywhere. A good, but not great musical starring two talented youths. I give it a 3/5.

  • strikes a pleasant cord

    • dm funk
    • 6/10/12

    one of many collaborations of rooney and garland but one of the all time greats. wonderful dance numbers and songs that must've sent movie-goers back in 1940 out on the streets humming and singing. when on tv, i watch it and still hum and sing the songs as presented. some movies never age - this is one of them!

  • My Favorite Dance Sequence Ever!!!!!

    • Michael Pierce
    • 5/11/11

    I love this movie!!!! The La Conga number is my all time favorite dance sequence from any movie ever made!!!Judy and Mickey at the top of their game!!!!

  • Strike Up The Band (1940)

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/17/10

    I have seen only portions of "Strike Up The Band", MGM's musical starring Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland, two of their top young talents, but I hope to see it in its entirety sometime soon. I saw a clip of the scene where the bowl of fruit is transformed into an orchestra. Very ingenious! How did they ever do that?

  • Grande musical

    • Sonia
    • 10/30/10

    Busby Berkeley arrassa na direo jogando todas as suas fichas em cenrios luxuosos e uma produo mais requintada. Judy e Mickey cantam, danam e trazem uma energia eletrizante ao filme. Uns dos meus favoritos.

  • I've been waiting for years to see this!!

    • Jonathan Warlen
    • 12/26/07

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time! When I saw he trailer on this website, I thought that Mickey Rooney must have been incredibly wonderful. About Mickey Rooney, he says that he is most proud of his film, The Black Stallion, and not this one. When I saw this movie, I learned the best sense of humor that anyone could possibly have! All of the actors that are fun to watch in this movie include Mickey Rooney, Judy Garland, Paul Whiteman, June Preisser, William Tracy, and Larry Nunn. Paul Whiteman and Mickey Rooney are a couple of the best conductors in American history! True, there will be parts that you might not like. A portion like the part where Mickey Rooney will only take June Preisser to the County Fair, in which he then gets hit by a baseball player, is something which you might not like. My favorite part of the entire movie is when Mickey Rooney conducts and plays the drums. However, there was something non-related to this movie that I don't like. The actors Judy Garland, Paul Whiteman, June Preisser, William tracy, and Larry Nunn, are all dead, yet what's worse is that only Paul Whiteman died peacefully. For instance, Judy Garland did drugs, June Preisser was killed in a car accident, William Tracy died young of a heart attack, and Larry Nunn killed himself. If you think about that, it is very sad. Besides the sadness, Mickey Rooney does not let that get to me, and instead, excites the entire world with the best music there is. Thank you, Mickey Rooney!!

  • STRIKE UP THE BAND IS SUPERB!!!!!!

    • Michael Pierce
    • 1/16/07

    Strike Up The Band is my scond favorite moive of all time!!! I don't think that there has been a musical production that even comes close to the "La Conga" number!!!! This Moive is THE TOP!!! My hat is off to Mickey and Judy!!!! SUPER!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.