skip navigation
Hills of Home

Hills of Home(1948)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • hills of home

    • kevin sellers
    • 6/9/18

    Is this movie really heart warming or is it just all those slugs of Scotch Dr. McClure administers to his patients? Anyway, this film is considered to be among the best of the Lassie series, if not the best, and one can understand why. It expertly interweaves the story of a rural doctor and the community that loves him with the travails of a hydrophobic collie and in the process conveys a strong life affirming if sentimental mood. Yet the sentiment is somehow easier to take, for me at least, when channeled through such luminaries of the Hollywood Brit community of the 1940s/50s as Edmund Gwenn, Donald Crisp, Reginald Owen, Rhys Williams, and Alan Napier. Talk about your pros. These guys could read a non disclosure agreement and make it interesting. Therefore, you can imagine how they do when set loose on a deathbed scene or a dangerous river crossing. So even though Janet Leigh and Tom Drake are not in their league, both acccent wise and acting wise, and even though the what looks to be Lake Arrowhead location shooting resembles Scotland about as much as, well, Lake Arrowhead, this is still a most satisfying hour and forty minutes. Give it a solid B. P.S. Almost forgot to mention Lassie. He/She's terrific! And I say that as a cat person.

  • Excellent movie

    • Robin Brown
    • 6/11/17

    The old movies have a quality lost in today's phony overblown "spectaculars". Common sense, good versus bad, true emotions and realities. This movie is beautiful and charming. It reflects the old time values that have been lost far too long

  • Quite A Tearjerker In The End

    • ladolassie
    • 6/22/13

    Doctor gives his all to the people of he glen and finally gets a fine thanks in the end.Made my blood boil when piper didn't want to play at his funeral,would only consent to a "Chief".Sacrifice your time and life to the village,and they act as ignorant as they look.Sorta like certain of me man's family,ignore him for 20 yrs because of being in a wheelchair and you can't learn to tone down ignorant remarks,call him cripple to his face and wonder why he's spitting mad after it escapes yer yap!Great Lassie entry,Crisp,Breon,Gwenn,Leigh,Napier,Freddie Worlock and all!

  • Hills of Home

    • Nancy Morgan
    • 10/9/10

    Another great Edmund Gynn movie. I would love to have it on DVD. I haven't seen one of these old movies that I didn't like. They are so much better than today's new movies. And we can let our children or grandchildren watch knowing they will see a film with high moral values and no swearing. What a treat!

  • Hills of Home (1948)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/15/10

    One of the better of the Lassie films, thanks mainly to a wonderful performance from Edmund Gwenn. Rich production values, excellent art direction and cinematography. It's well written, has a fine score and is always interesting.

  • Beautiful movie

    • Wendy
    • 8/26/08

    I was not able to watch the whole movie. It came on between 7 and 9 am and I was getting ready for work. What I did see was very good. A sweet story about Lassie I would love to see again. Please show it again soon. Hopefully next month:) Thanks!

  • Donald Crisp: a character-study in values

    • Don Caton
    • 11/14/07

    While the portrayal of the characters in this beautiful family story is a bit stiff, the real message that shines through is one of powerful values ... not just the values behind the successes and failures of "life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness" but the life-values of selfish independence verses commitment and compassion that, with the passage of time, give way to the truth that to love one's neighbors is the most fulfilling value to which civilization can aspire.

  • Hills of Home

    • Dan
    • 4/9/07

    A good wholesome film with a good cast. Lassie was a well disciplined dog and shows on the screen in different situations. Not currently on DVD but, maybe someday.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.