skip navigation
Angels with Dirty Faces

Angels with Dirty Faces(1938)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

    • 4/29/16

  • Great Movie with thought provoking ending

    • Kathy Fisher
    • 4/29/16

    * SPOILER ALERT*As always, James Cagney doesn't disappoint as THE BEST GANGSTER EVER.The ending of this movie was just PERFECT. After watching Cagney give a great performance throughout, the movie wraps up with what I believe is THE MOST important scene and/or message of the entire movie. Just when we think he is just too much of a monster to do right by his lifelong friend turned 'Man Of God', and, hopefully, also save the young 'gang' from a life of crime, he surprises us and lets out the most blood curdling, GUT WRENCHING SCREAMS, AND PLEADS FOR HIS LIFE FOR ALL TO HEAR. His pleads fill all with horror. I felt SURE he'd NEVER DO IT!The question is and will always be: Did he actually turn coward and his pleads and screams were genuine? OR did he decide to do one last very important thing not only out of total respect for his friend, but for the group of young boys who looked up to him as a hero? In which case, he'd go down in history as a coward, something this gangster would NEVER DO.I do believe it's possible he could have done the pleading and screaming for either reason, which made the ending of this movie one of the best. It really could be reasoned out either way.We don't know that once his fate became a reality this 'TOUGH AS NAILS' gangster couldn't hold back his absolute terror over what was about to happen.However, I don't think I'm alone when I say that my belief is that it took everything out of him TO PLEAD AND SCREAM IN ANGUISH FOR HIS LIFE, because he was NOT A COWARD, nor afraid to die. But it was a way to honor his lifelong friendship to his clergyman friend, and possibly even MORE SO, to save the boys from following in his criminal footsteps. I also believe that as he faced death, possibly for the first time, he knew he could do one last GOOD thing at the very end of his life.He threw out the tough guy persona to do the right thing for all of the right reasons.GREAT MOVIE!!!! LOVE THIS ONE!

  • Angels with Dirty Faces Back on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 3/23/16

    I would love to have this gangster classic back on separate DVD. I like James Cagney, Pat O'Brien, Ann Sheridan, and Humphrey Bogart.

  • Controversy

    • Salvatore Collichio
    • 3/5/14

    Did Rocky do his friend a last favor by dying yellow at the end, or did he really die a coward?I've seen this great film many times over the years, and was shocked when I read there was anyone who would think that Rocky died a real coward. SO obvious to me he honored his lifelong friends last request in an effort to help those kids from his neighborhood. He ended his life wanting them to have a chance to go straight.....distroying their idol worship of him by dying a coward. Great, great film. One of Cagneys best!

  • Angels with Dirty Faces

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/2/12

    A powerful social commentary is played in this gangster classic. Cagney deservedly earned his first Best Actor nomination as a cocky hoodlum, who is coerced by a brilliant O'Brien to loose the faith of the kids who idolize him; great supporting work from Bogart & Sheridan. Director Curtiz isn't a gentle moralizer & the way he filmed Cagney's final scene is harrowing. A terrific film from both Curtiz, plus Cagney & O'Brien. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Angels with Dirty Faces

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ****

  • Angels With Dirty Faces

    • Robert Carrese
    • 1/23/11

    Classic Cagney! One of his best performances! The Dead End Kids are perfect in this film.

  • QUITE SIMPLY A GREAT MOVIE

    • Ron Germano
    • 4/19/10

    Jimmy Cagney steals the show-as he usually does-in this great gangster from the slums film.You can't give enough credit to all the actors in this masterpiece.Pat O'Brien is perfect as the "the boy who ran just a little faster".Bogart is the ultimate weasel & Ann Sheridan is a doll.The Dead End Kids give the film substance & meaning.Add it all together & you have an all time great.And NO ONE dies like Cagney!

  • ANN SHERIDAN IS SUPER HOT

    • bill
    • 9/18/09

    even by today's standards she is gorgeous.great gangster picture.

  • Angels with Dirty Faces (1938)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/12/09

    One of the greatest classic gangster films, and one of the roles James Cagney's is most identified with. Great screenplay, excellent characterizations. The supporting cast is outstanding and launched the careers of the Dead End Kids and Bowery Boys.

  • Nobody was better at being BAD

    • Steve
    • 7/15/09

    or at dying, especially in "Angels...".Jimmy Cagney was also the best at refereeing a basketball game after putting a fedora on Ann Sheridan's pretty little noggin'!The quintesstial anti-hero because Cagney showed us humanity no matter how deep down we had to look to find it in the character's he portrayed and boy, did we look - everytime.

  • Amen to Cagney

    • Theresa
    • 5/8/08

    No one could have played this part as Cagney played it. He is a Lost Boy. Pat O'Brien does well as an unstuffy priest who has eaten as much dirt as Cagney's main character. Both portrayals fit each other like pieces of a puzzle. You keep hoping, till the end, that Cagney's character just might turn around, and, when he doesn't, you want to cry. Ann Sheridan originally had a bigger part, which was cut. Nonetheless, her minimal presence enhances the film. The ending is, needless to say, a classic one. Cagney should have got the Academy Award he was nominated for with this.

  • James Cagney at his best......

    • Tommy R.
    • 2/7/08

    One of the greatest movie endings ever for the sake of debating with friends over a cold beer or two. Those of us born and raised in the inner city can relate to the tough, street-wise Rocky Sullivan. The movie is worth the purchase price just to watch Cagney manhandle Bogart.

  • a great gangstar movie

    • evan
    • 3/22/07

    a great classic and it makes you think

  • Angels....My Favorite......

    • FrankieCee
    • 10/15/06

    "Angels with Dirty Faces" is probably my favorite Gangster movie of all time. I've loved this movie since I was young. The ending still brings a tear to my eye. There is a strong moral lesson in the ending. It proves that there is no sacrifice too large when a lifelong friend is in trouble and in need of help. Rocky Sullivan may not have been the worst criminal on earth, yet redeems himself appropriately; "in the eyes of God" when "push" comes to "shove". The "East Side Kids" were always fun to watch and I enjoyed them immensely here as well. Bogart plays a real two-faced "stinker" and the setting is classic New York, need I say more? Don't miss this one!

  • I love Cagney!

    • MBM
    • 9/5/06

    This is my favorite Cagney movie!

  • Must see! Please air again soon.

    • Jill
    • 8/8/06

    This movie was aired recently at 6am in the morning - I was late to work as I couldn't tear myself away. You need to air this movie again - it was rated 4 stars. Great story, great cast, really well done.

  • please show again as soon as possible

    • Pat
    • 3/29/06

    an excellent movie I have missed it again.ny v c r broke down.please show it again very very soon,

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.