skip navigation
8 1/2

8 1/2(1963)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

8 1/2 A world-famous film director... MORE > $25.95 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • 8 1/2

    • Trina Simon
    • 11/13/19

    I, too, hated it when it first came out when I was a teenager. Of course there's more to it that you see when you become old and in fact that is one of the themes, age and aging. Also truth and it's opposite: deception. & self-deception. Perhaps it was his LSD trip, it has that possible atmosphere.It covers a lot of ground, The pressures he experiences for example, from others.It has tragic moments and comedy. I remember seeing anouk aimee in an interview and she pointed out that she was a Taurus; she's great, & my God shes still alive! tcm should interview her ASAP...

  • Tutti Insieme

    • Linda DiBenardo
    • 1/12/19

    All together! Loved the ending with all the characters holding hands. Black & white Fellini masterpiece and easy to understand with subtitles. Bravo!

  • Dumbfounding

    • Jay
    • 1/11/19

    To a teenager right on the cusp of learning that there was more to movies than Doris Day and John Wayne, this movie in 1963 was overwhelming. There has perhaps never been such a complete exercise in "style", not even "Citizen Kane". Since the movie is essentially about making a movie that's about nothing, it's hard to know what to say about the content. Is there any, really? This was both Fellini's masterwork and the beginning of his slide into empty self-absorprtion, which blighted the twilight of his career. Practically all of his movies henceforth were entitled "Fellini's something-or-other." With all that said, this is an experience in style and atmosphere unlike any other, and if you consider yourself a cinephile and haven't seen it, there is a gaping hole in your education. Is it a great film? That could be argued both ways. Is it essential? Most definitely.

  • See It More Than Once

    • David H.
    • 8/30/18

    I too, like a previous reviewer didn't get much out of "8 1/2" when I first saw it, but since seemingly everyone else thought this was a great film I decided trying to view it again. Even though I still don't completely understand it, I think this is a good movie. Despite sometimes having to scramble to read the subtitles, Marcello Mastroianni was great as a beleaguered film director, but I was especially impressed with Anouk Aimee portraying his wife. Sometimes a movie has to seen more than once to be appreciated and have found some films on TCM, most notably "Shane" from 1953, are better when viewed again.

  • Avant Garbage

    • Jeff Boston
    • 8/30/18

    The opening scene is indeed experimental and it works. The next 40 minutes were incredibly boring, wacky, and pretentious. I turned off the TV after 45 minutes of this "masterpiece" that TCM chose to show at 8 pm on a Thursday. What a disappointment.

  • 8 and half

    • Michael Whitty
    • 10/3/16

    Fellini's "8half" is a film about a film in the making in Italy as we see the director in this story, who is very much like Fellini himself played to the hilt by Marcello Mastroianni, try his best but not making much progress with his collaboraters and goes into a fantasy world as he waits for the necessary ideas. Real filmmakers have probably have had their artistry block too for a time and here the director goes off in all directions of fantasy and reality. The mind of this director in need of ideas finally gets a little happier toward the end as he gets more of a grip on his situation with a celebration ending. This has been known as one of the greatest of films as it continues to fascinate through its imaginary imagery.

  • 8 1/2

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-3 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-3/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-4/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-3 1/2 out of 5

  • The Greatest

    • Cihan
    • 5/6/12

    Simply, the greatest film of all time. Directing, cinematography and acting are all superb. (and one of the best opening sequence in cinema history!)

  • Honest, hilarious, one of Fellini's masterpieces!

    • me
    • 10/5/07

    A semi-autobiographic film by Mr. Fellini, truly a classic. The main character is a disenchanted famous director, preparing to make a film, while the production team races to create overblown sets and actresses are led along, our protagonist has no storyline for this film he's about to make. Meanwhile, he tangos with other women, leaving his wife to put up with the consequences. Self-discovery is a very strong theme in this film and also love, because as one of the characters states, he doesn't know how to love.In many ways, an existentialist film, almost celebratory, but sharp with humour and clever sequences. If you get lost, you can always look at the clothes, which are gorgeous! I digress, buy it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.