skip navigation
The Gunfighter

The Gunfighter(1950)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Good Western - in SPITE of the mustache!!!

    • JA661
    • 1/4/20

    Gregory Peck turns in a good performance as the celebrity gunfighter who wants to settle down and nobody is willing to let him. Millard Mitchell gets kudos for his strong supporting performance, as the sheriff who wants to keep the peace. But the real star to me is the awesome set decoration and cinematography. When the film opens, Peck goes into a bar that is filmed so well, you can smell and feel the ambiance. 80/100.

  • THE GUN FIGHTER

    • WILL
    • 3/26/19

    OOOOPS . Sorry Gregory Peck. The name is Mr. frazzle Bottom not Fuzzy Bottom. My mistake. As someone pointed out to me, there probable was and still is a Buckhorn Saloon in every town and city in TEXAS. In LONESOME DOVE. The original owner was Wee Willy Montgomery, and you didn't have to put up with a rude bartender, when he ran the place. Just ask Woodrow F. Call or Augustice Mcrea.

  • THE GUNFIGHTER

    • WILL
    • 3/25/19

    Remember the old Buckhorn Saloon in EL PASO JIMMY? Well, they must have moved it, Cause its around the corner on Houston St. a stones throw from the ALAMO in down town San Antonio. Oh well GREAT film any way Mr .Fuzzy bottom.

  • Tragic gunfighter classic

    • Oliver Cutshaw
    • 9/9/15

    Perhaps modeled as much on the doomed gangsters of 30's crime dramas as much as on western legends this is a fine movie. I honestly think that is one of Peck's very best performances. He has wit, humor, sadness; is a bit stoic but all too human. All the performance are outstanding. Look for early Alan Hale Jr. (the Skipper). On the down side, the movie is a bit static. And it tries too hard to make the gunfighter a lost, lonely figure while ignoring to some degree the fact that he probably has killed a dozen or so men. In fair fights, after all this is Gregory Peck we are talking about, but a killer nonetheless. Good movie, well directed and written. Definitely worth seeing.

  • The Gunfighter

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/30/12

    A finely-crafted, psychologically-driven western. Peck is believable as a mustached shooter who can't help loosing his reputation. This is more of a character study than action-packed shoot-out, courtesy of a brilliant, Oscar-nominated screenplay. A nice film to see from time-to-time. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • A western for adults

    • elwyn
    • 2/2/12

    A few westerns rise above the cartoon level of super heroes who never miss and whose guns never run out of bullets. Peck played a real human being struggling with his past and enduring the consequences of choices already made. Among these are The Gunfighter, High Noon, Will Penney and Red River.

  • Authentic Western

    • Jim Vassar
    • 9/7/08

    Gregory Peck was a topnotch actor and every film he was in was better because of him. Similar to Jimmy Stewart, he had an ability to seem authentic. The Gunfighter is an example of a true to life western--the acting and direction are low-key but dynamic. The plot is engaging. This is one of the best western dramas made. I don't understand why it and Stalking Moon have not been released on DVD.

  • The Gunfighter

    • Ed Sims
    • 2/4/08

    Please locate this great film and show it on TCM...A great film staring GregoryPeck as an aged gunfighter....Will be looking forward in seeing it again..Ed

  • Life is hard for a gunfighter

    • Ben
    • 3/20/07

    I thought I would go back and try to catch as many of the movies Icould that were made in the year I was born. I felt that i might get alook at life at that time. Of course, many of those movies will bewesterns such as this and not helpful for anything but a reminiscenceof what I watched as a child.Gregory Peck played a very believable part in this film. He was tiredof the "life" and wanted to settle down. It's not that easy when youhave a "name," as there is always someone looking to make a name forthemselves.This is an adult film, not a cartoon. It is about choices made in lifeand the consequences. It is also about prejudices and rumors, but Ithink the most important lesson learned is not in this film, but init's ending.It was worth getting up at 2:30 in the morning to see.

  • a dont miss

    • michael york
    • 10/8/06

    excellent western with morality and tension legen has it zanuck hated pecks moustache but peck gives perhaps his finest performance

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.