skip navigation
Lightnin' Bill Carson

Lightnin' Bill Carson(1936)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here

Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)


powered by AFI

Modern sources list the following additional cast members: Lafe McKee (Costillo), Edmund Cobb (Sam Bates), Jack Rockwell (Sheriff), Frank Ellis, Charles "Slim" Whitaker and Artie Ortego (Henchmen), Jimmy Aubrey (Pete), Oscar Gahan, Herman Hack, Tom Smith and Franklin Farnum (Townsmen), George Morrell (Gambler), Joe Girard, Roger Williams, Dick Botiller, Ray Henderson, Francis Walker and Jack Evans. This was the first of nine "Lightning Bill" Carson films starring Tim McCoy and directed by Sam Newfield that were made between 1936 and 1940. Except for this picture, all the films in the series were produced or presented by Sam Katzman for Victory Pictures Corp. Basil Dickey wrote the original story or screenplay for three of the film's in the series, and collaborated with Joseph O'Donnell on screenplay for the last in the series. Ben Corbett appeared as "Magpie" in six of the Victory films (his character is unidentified in the remaining two). Ted Adams appeared in all of the Victory films, and Forrest Taylor appeared in seven. Joan Barclay co-starred with McCoy in three of the films, and Joyce Bryant co-starred in two. For more information on the series, consult the Series Index.