skip navigation
The List of Adrian Messenger

The List of Adrian Messenger(1963)

Contribute

FOR The List of Adrian Messenger (1963) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • the classy from the slobs.

    • a.morris
    • 6/1/18

    just sit back and enjoy. for the jackass bunch..i am sure some dipshit will try to remake it. hold on zagnuts.

  • Nonplussed...

    • el debbo
    • 10/1/15

    Thought it was one of Huston's mediocre outings. It has so-so production values, with the look of a 60's TV show almost. And the de-masking was a surprise? Well, we knew that most of the key players were in horrible rubbery masks from the get-go. I thought the various actors surrounding them did a great job of acting. That is, pretending that many of the players looked like normal humans. 2 stars, ho-hum.

  • The List of Adrian Messenger

    • Kay Harvey
    • 1/27/13

    This movie is a masterpiece. It has an all star cast, most of them are disguised and one can try to guess who it is. The identities of these actors are revealed in the end. The plot is good and keeps you in suspense until the very end. This is one of my favorite movies. I have been waiting literally for years to see it on TCM.

  • the list of adrian messenger

    • richard lea
    • 1/24/12

    i saw this movie a year after it's release.i thought it was a masterpeice of genius.i heard it didn't do too well at the box office.it was a movie you have to stay focused on.i liked the way the kirk douglas character wasn't dwelled on other than his past and motives.the entire cast and crew should have received some kind of award for this underated,overlooked,work of art.and let's not forget about the opening music theme(perfect).i've always felt that the movieshould have been ten minutes longer and detail at least two more of the killer's victims,to add to thesuspense.there have been a lot remakes lately,and i would to see this one remade with the same charm.three thumbs up

    • 11/16/11

  • " The List of Adrian Messenger "

    • Dallas Shannon,III
    • 10/14/11

    When I saw this movie,George C. Scott was the Inspector and the killer was Kirk Douglas.Other notable actors were Burt Lancster,Robert Mitchum,Tony Curtis and Frank Sinatra.The movie was thrilling,but the best part was the end when the actors removed their makeup to show who they were.That was the real surprise.I had it on VHS,but my player broke it and was hopeing I could find it on DVD.There is no mention of this movie with these stars on TCM.

  • The List of Adrian Messenger

    • Kay Harvey
    • 2/19/11

    This is one of the best mystery movies I have seen. I am a great fan of mystery movies and books. This movie keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. It was nominated for the "Edgar" award for best picture of 1964. I can't believe TCM hasn't shown this in the last 7 years. I also can't believe it doesn't rank higher on the "Not-On-Home Video" list.

  • Adrian Messenger is now availble.

    • Marshall Flam
    • 3/1/10

    This title is now available on Warner Bros Vault Classics. I waited 20 years for this one.

  • Great Mysters

    • Sally Uhlir
    • 4/4/09

    Yhis wis one of the greatest and most entertaining mystery movies of all time.

  • Great movie

    • Scott
    • 2/2/09

    Great movie with a mystery inside a mystery. Only wish it was available on DVD.

  • One Of the Best Mystery Movies Ever Made!

    • Jennie
    • 12/31/08

    This movie by far has been and always will be one of my very favorite of all mystery movies. Definitely a lost gem. I am genuinely surprised that it has not been released on DVD before this.

  • Love To See It Again

    • Steve
    • 4/1/08

    I notice in the list of cast members you failed to list Tony Curtis, Frank Sinatra, Robert Mitchum...and so on..Also, was'nt Kirk Douglas in the movie as well?

  • Forgotten classic!

    • David
    • 12/28/07

    I have loved this movie from the first time I saw it back in the sixties. Intriguing murder mystery works on several levels as you not only try to solve it along with the protaganists, but also try to figure out who the big stars are in their disguises. My favorite actor is George C. Scott, and with a cast that includes Kirk Douglas, Burt Lancaster, Robert Mitchum, Frank Sinatra, and Tony Curtis, all in their prime directed by John Huston, how can you go wrong? Add to that a soundtrack composed by the late great Jerry Goldsmith and you have one of the most entertaining films ever made filmed in beautiful black and white. The end titles, where the disguised actors reveal themselves, are a hoot and is an added bonus. So, perhaps the biggest mystery is, why no DVD???

  • One Of My Favorites!

    • Paula Pacente
    • 7/18/07

    I saw this movie for the first time in the late '60s when I was a teenager. I loved it then and still enjoy it every time I see it! I believe the last time it was run on TCM was January of 2005, so another run would not be very redundant...

  • PLEASE! CONSIDER US, YOUR ADMIRERS!!

    • judi anderson
    • 6/19/07

    please, whomever has the rights to this movie, PLEASE release it to us! I have yearned to have this movie, or see it even on TV, to no avail. It means so very much to me; I have adored 3 of these actors since I was 7 years old, and am now 60. please, before I die, let me own this dear great movie. God bless you richly. judi anderson, Atlanta

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.