skip navigation
A Star Is Born

A Star Is Born(1976)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • "They shoot horses" and. movies like this.

    • vegA
    • 12/30/19

    All involved should be imprisoned for false impersonation of actors and filmakers. Streisand sets a new low for obnoxiousness (which might be worth watching for laughs). Kristofferson tries so hard to be laid-back he needs Valium.Some movies are so bad they're good like Plan 9 from Outer Space. This business transaction set to music is not one of them.

  • Streisand must be a firecracker in the sack!

    • Jay Nunnally Allen
    • 12/30/19

    Who did Barbra sleep with to get this roll? Was it Robert Evens? The film plays on the younger female's naive dreams of celebrity -- that too could be me if I were discovered. It's the flip side of anyone could be president. Let me make this easy for you: you can't sing and you won't be president. However, if you want to spend the day watching each version, do it. God help us there are four of them! You'll note how each generation revises it for their own reasons. The earliest version was about youth, the most recent is about struggling, and failing, to grow up.

  • one too many

    • don letta
    • 8/14/18

    The glowing reviews herein are obviously written by Streisand enamorati, so they can be dismissed out of hand.All I can say is if Elvis Presley had been it, it would have gone down as THE worst film ever released. As it is, it's the worst film ever released.

    • 8/7/18

  • "You're Blowin' My Act"

    • Joella Lyndon
    • 9/30/17

    Those were the first words spoken by Streisand to Kristofferson. Not exactly something an up and coming, insecure or sensitive singer would say to a stranger. I guess Streisand decided her interpretation of her character was far superior & more enticing than Judy Garland or Janet Gaynor's. The only exciting person in this movie was Gary Busey playing Kristofferson's Road manager. Always connected, intense performances from Mr. Busey. He is the reason I gave the movie 2 stars instead of 1.When I searched online for actresses who starred in 'A Star is Born' Lady Gaga's name came up after Miss Garland & Gaynor, with no sign of Streisand. In my opinion, for GOOD reason. There is no sympathy or love for Streisand's character. She's brash, she's brawn, she's Babs! I was 16 when this movie was released. I recall the reason everyone I knew went to see it was because of Streisand's hair > yes the mid 70's white 'fro'. With a stylist so gifted at the perm rods how can he go wrong producing a classic film?! I don't know . . . in my opinion Ms. Streisand's ego always gets in the way of all her performances, perm rods notwithstanding.

  • A Star Is Born

    • Michael Whitty
    • 3/6/17

    There have been several "A Star Is Born" movies though the best may be the Judy Garland film from 1954 with James Mason as the older star on his way out. In this Barbra Streisand version Kris Kristofferson plays the older male rock star with Barbra Streisand coming into his life. The song "Evergreen" won an Oscar, a lovely love tune, as Barbra proved suitable to this rock musical. Originally Elvis Presley was casted to play the aging rock star but his manager wouldn't let him and Elvis died a year later in 1977. But "A Star Is Born" has that great title and a good enough storyline to get audiences ready for an absorbing film.

  • Awesome movie

    • Peggy
    • 2/17/16

    OMG I've waited years to see this movie. I have the album soundtrack ( 33 vinyl ). One of my all time favorite movie. I graduated the year before and remember seeing it at the out door movie. ( which we still have today in Warren Mn). Many great memories. Thank you for showing this movie.

  • A STAR IS BORN

    • Oldeebtgoodee
    • 9/21/14

    This is one of my all time favorite movies. It is one of the best pull at your heart-strings tragic love stories I've seen. Unfortunately for me, I basically lived the general story line.( I lost my alcoholic husband, MY soul-mate, in almost the same way in 2002). It's crazy that it had always been one of my faves and then paralleled my life in such a way. Loved it then and still!

  • Espetacular

    • Sonia
    • 10/25/10

    Uns dos melhores filmes da barbra Streisand nos anos 70. A voz dela maravilhosa. Um filme que vale a pena assistir para mostrar que ela fez outros personagens interessantes no cinema e o filme lindo.

  • A Star is Born -- 1976

    • Roberta
    • 6/6/10

    I became of fan of Barbra Streisand after seing this movie.Previously, I had thought she only sang one type of song -- after seeing this movie, I quickly revised my opinion.One of my life dreams was to see her in concert.This became a reality about three-four years ago.I saw her in Columbus -- had great seat.I will always remember it!

  • A Star Is Born (1976)

    • James Higgins
    • 11/30/09

    Unnecessary remake, set in the world of music rather than film. Streisand tries, and she does do okay, but the movie has too many cliche's and lacks originality. Some great musci though, especially the Oscar winning song "Evergreen".

  • One of my favorites

    • Laura J
    • 2/1/09

    Although many critics panned this film, I love it. I saw it at least 20x. I have seen all A Star is Born films and each is appropriate for its time, this version no less so. Barbara and Kris were both excellent and even though they say they didnt care for each other you would never know it. I even have the music DVD of the film. See it with an open mind, you may wind up watching it 19 more times like I did. :-)

  • AWESOME MOVIE

    • Barb Boulter
    • 12/30/08

    OK I HAVE SEEN EVERY SINGLE VERSION OF THIS MOVIE, OVER THE YEARS. I THINK BY FAR THIS IS THE BEST ONE. KRIS PLAYS THE PART TO THE HILT, AND BARBRA.......I ABSOLUTELY LOVE EVERYTHING SHE IS IN..AND THAT VOICE...I COULD WATCH THIS MOVIE..OVER AND OVER..AND STILL LOVE IT.DIAMOND GIRL

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.