skip navigation
36 Hours

36 Hours(1965)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

36 Hours Nazis kidnap a key American... MORE > $16.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • More Like a Mystery Thriller

    • Lin
    • 1/11/16

    I have never seen this movie from start to finish. This second viewing I caught it about a quarter of the way in, but I found it mesmerizing. To have a movie with both Rod Taylor and James Garner starring is a real treat. This film is more of a mystery thriller than a typical war film. Great chemistry between Eva Marie St. and James Garner.

  • 36 Hours is a Hidden Treasure

    • Bill the Movie Lover
    • 1/11/16

    Now and then, you're lucky enough to catch a hidden treasure on TCM. "36 Hours" is such a find. An excellent premise and storyline; superb cast and acting; riveting from start to finish. The black and white format adds to the sense of history and to the drama. So much fun to see so many recognizable faces in the cast. Have always enjoyed this movie and thoroughly enjoyed it again today...would watch it again tonight if it was on the schedule.....simply an excellent example of what Hollywood used to turn out.....SUPERB!

  • Please release this film on DVD

    • Steve
    • 1/15/15

    You absolutely need to release this film on DVD!!! This is especially true to honor both James Garner and Rod Taylor who both passed away this past year. This is truly an excellent thriller.

  • 36 Hours(

    • Bruce C
    • 11/24/13

    Any film with James Garner is good, this one is vastly underrated. Action, drama, and mystery allrolled up in one. Strong cast ads to its zeal. Cleverly played behind top notch camera (angle) work.Music score adds to the fervor. Like Mr. Buddwing, the black and white format lends a measure ofoverall depth - lighting effect is outstanding. Can't say enough, its a keeper, a fitting classic.

  • Enjoyed seeing the Wawona

    • Mike
    • 10/28/13

    We had a wonderful stay at the Wawona Hotel in Yosemite in 1982. I was almost sure I recognized the grounds of the "American" hospital (it was originally built and used as as a TB sanitarium). The movie was great fun.

  • Excellent movie

    • Catheryne
    • 10/28/13

    I enjoy this film every time I see it on TV. So glad I was home today, an unexpected pleasure.

  • 36 Hours

    • Bob Mansfield
    • 6/6/13

    I had never seen this movie until today on TCM.Excellent!!!Can't believe that this is never on or that I've never seen it before. Very good story with many top actors/actress from their day. This could also be a good one to remake. The storyline was excellent and James Garner and Rod Taylor did a great job with their acting.I can't believe it is not on the schedule for any re showings.Thanks for showing a classic that truly needs to be on the schedule more,Bob MansfieldMesa, Arizona

  • 36 hours

    • bill walchak
    • 6/6/13

    This must have been a sleeper at the box office I love this movie and highly recommend it

  • 36 Hours

    • kay
    • 8/19/12

    Well done. I would like to see it again.

  • Riveting!

    • Dorian
    • 10/23/11

    One of the finest WW2 movies--a keeper!

  • Brilliant!!

    • KonaRose
    • 4/7/11

    How on earth I managed to miss this superb WWII thriller, I have no idea. I already love and admire James Garner, Eve Marie Saint and Rod Taylor - put them together and what a superb movie!I saw it the first time today on TCM (thank you TCM-you play THE best movies, no commercials aka 'torture.' I could not believe how good this movie is. The plot surprised me. How could someone think this up, let alone write it up? I don't know if it is based on a true story or not (respond if you know), but since it's a movie, perhaps something similar to it was really done to POWs. Keep these great movies coming TCM!

  • show it again

    • Dale
    • 1/11/10

    Frist time seeing this where has it been hiding

  • Wow..

    • Evan
    • 5/26/08

    How have I never seen this little gem before? This film kept me engaged from start to finish.

  • Location

    • Bob
    • 5/24/08

    Filmed at the Wawona Hotel in Yosemite National Park, California.

  • excellent movie

    • Skip
    • 7/3/06

    I tuned in late and would to purchase a copy of this movie. I am interested if any of the research on the method o fextractin information was ever really happened. This one can fool you, if you only look at teh title. I though tI would see what kind of movie it was. I rate it as "A" quality and suspense.

  • Finally Available

    • Ron Depic
    • 6/20/06

    A really great movie to watch and remember.

  • 36 Hours......36 years and then some

    • John Jobeless
    • 4/7/06

    Imagine my delight at finding this film screening on TCM today. What a treat finally to see this excellent film again after 40 years. I forget why it's been unseen all these years, but it's good news that whole generations will be able to see it at last. It's reassuring that studio politics and/or copyright entanglements couldn't keep such a good film hidden forever. It's a great story, well written, produced, directed and acted -- and it holds up much better than so many severely dated '60s films.

  • Regarding "36 HOURS"

    • Joe Longo
    • 1/19/06

    The Movie Was Excellent

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.